Certification Procedure

Vorgehensweise mehrstufiges Security-Source-Code Audit

The certification of a web application is the result of a successful multi-level and complete security audit of the source code.

In order to certify a web service ÖNORM A 7700 compliant, a multi-level source code review is performed. Once the decision has been made to obtain certification, the starting point is the Austrian Standards Institute (www.on-norm.at), which can arrange an accredited auditor to perform the evaluation.

The entire source code is then audited for vulnerabilities. Known and suspected defects are verified in a test environment. Exploitable vulnerabilities discovered during this stage are recorded and collected for communication to the development team. This first stage is called the main audit, and the primary part of the certification process. (See diagram)

Based on the results of the main audit, the developer team then has the chance to remedy the discovered defects. Depending on the architecture of the service, these changes can range from minor code patches to complete re-engineering of vulnerable components. Therefore, is is recommended to plan a secuity framework in the design phase of an application, in order to limit security-critical changes (e.g. extension of an input filter) to a well-defined section of code.

In order to verify the correct implementation of changes, all altered files are subjected to a second audit. The changes are again verified in a test environment, which permits the auditor to evaluate theoretical weaknesses in practice. Should new implementation defects be found, the auditor can once again inform the developers of the new problems in the source code, so that they can remedy them.

Previous experience with certification projects have shown that almost all problems are successfully resolved in the final audit - the applications can, most of the time, be considered secure by this point. As soon as this status is attained and certified by the auditor, the Austrian Standards Institute (ÖNORM) issues the certificate. In order to clearly identify the certified version, checksums of all audited files are given to the Austrian Standards Institute for safe-keeping.

Vorgehensweise bei Zertifizierung

Vorgehensweise mehrstufiges Security-Source-Code Audit

Die Zertifizierung einer Webanwendung erfolgt nach erfolgreicher Durchführung eines mehrstufigen, vollständigen Security-Source-Code Audit.

Um Webservices gemäß ÖNORM A 7700 zu zertifizieren, wird ein mehrstufiges Sourcecode-Review angewendet. Nachdem die Entscheidung für eine solche Zertifizierung gefallen ist, führt der erste Weg zum Österreichischen Normungsinstitut (www.on-norm.at), das einen akkreditierten Auditor vermittelt, der die Evaluierung durchführt.

Zuerst wird hierzu der gesamte Sourcecode auf Schwachstellen untersucht. Erkannte beziehungsweise vermutete Mängel werden in einer Teststellung verifiziert. Handelt es sich um ausnutzbare Schwachstellen, werden diese vermerkt und gesammelt am Ende des Audits an das Entwicklerteam kommuniziert. Dieser erste Schritt wird als Hauptaudit bezeichnet und stellt den größten Block des Zertifizierungsprozesses dar (vgl. Abb.).

Das Entwicklerteam hat dann die Möglichkeit, die gefundenen Schwachstellen zu beheben. Abhängig vom Aufbau des Services kann dies durch die Änderung weniger Zeilen Code geschehen oder einen grundlegenden Umbau erfordern. Es wird daher empfohlen, schon in der Designphase ein Security Framework vorzusehen, um sicherheitsrelevante Änderungen zentral an einer Stelle durchführen zu können (z. B. Erweiterung eines Inputfilters).

Um die korrekte Umsetzung der Änderungen zu verifizieren, werden alle geänderten Dateien einem zweiten Audit unterzogen. Die Änderungen werden auch auf die Teststellung übertragen, um dem Auditor die Möglichkeit zu geben, die theoretischen Angriffsvektoren in der Praxis zu überprüfen. Sollten Mängel in der Umsetzung vorliegen, unterrichtet der Auditor erneut die Entwickler, damit diese letzte Probleme im Sourcecode beheben können.

Bisherige Zertifizierungsprojekte haben gezeigt, dass im anschließenden Nachaudit nur noch selten verbliebene Schwachstellen zu finden waren - die Applikation konnte dann meist als sicher bewertet werden. Sobald dieser Status erreicht und vom Auditor beglaubigt ist, stellt das Österreichische Normungsinstitut (ON) das Zertifikat aus. Um die zertifizierte Version eindeutig bestimmen zu können, werden beim ON Checksummen aller zertifizierten Dateien hinterlegt.