Standard

Inhalt

The goal of ÖNORM A 7700 (A7700) is it, to clearly and comprehensively describe the security issues found in web applications, which are only discussed tangentially in other norms (e.g. ISO 27001). Additionally, the compliance process demands a high level of security that is reached by a methodical, complete source code audit. The A7700 norm defines the current state of the art for web application security. The A7700 standard thus provides an important guideline for vendors and customers acquiring web applications.

An except from the table of contents of A7700:

Resources

The ÖNORM A 7700 is available for purchase from:

Austrian Standards plus Logo    Beuth Logo

History

2003

Several concerns, including the Austrian National Bank, request that SEC Consult develop a standard for web application security.

2004/2005

Together with the Austrian Standards Institute and numerous major banks, insurance companies, public authorities, and industrial concerns, the ONR 17700 norm is drafted. The contents of this standard were based on the recommendations of the internationally accepted OWASP-Guide, which comprehensively describes web application security issues, but not the certification process.

September 2005

ONR 17700 is published, and is the first EU-wide acknowledged standard that permits certification of web applications based on security criteria.

2007

The first ONR 17700 certification processes are completed. Companies and public authorities begin to establish ONR 17700 certification as a requirement for the development and purchase of web applications.

Dezember 2008

ONR 17700 is succeeded by ÖNORM A 7700, the current state of the art for secure web applications.

Standard

Inhalt

Ziel der ÖNORM A 7700 (A7700) ist es zum einen, eine vollständige Abdeckung des Sicherheitsbereichs in Webapplikationen, die von anderen Normen wie z.B. der ISO 27001 nur gestreift werden, zu gewährleisten. Zum anderen wird die Erreichung eines sehr hohen Sicherheitsniveaus gefordert, das durch ein mehrstufiges, vollständiges Source-Code Audit erreicht wird. Die A7700 definiert den derzeit gültigen Stand der Technik für die Sicherheit von Webanwendungen. Am Standard A7700 sollten sich daher sowohl die Hersteller von Software als auch die Endkunden bei der Beschaffung von Webapplikationen orientieren.

Anbei ein Auszug aus dem Inhaltsverzeichnis der A7700:

Bezugsquelle

Die ÖNORM A 7700 können Sie unter folgender Quelle beziehen:

Austrian Standards plus Logo    Beuth Logo

Geschichte

2003

Mehrere Unternehmen, darunter auch die Österreichische Nationalbank, treten an SEC Consult mit dem Ersuchen heran, einen Standard für Webapplikationssicherheit zu entwickeln.

2004/2005

Aus diesem Bestreben heraus wurde gemeinsam mit dem Österreichischen Normungsinstitut und zahlreichen Großbanken, Versicherungen, Behörden und Industrieunternehmen die Normregel ONR 17700 ins Leben gerufen. Die wesentlichen Inhalte dieses Standards wurden unter anderem von den Empfehlungen des international anerkannten OWASP-Guides abgeleitet, der das Thema Webapplikationssicherheit zwar umfassend beschreibt, jedoch keine Zertifizierung ermöglichte.

September 2005

Die ON-Regel 17700 wird veröffentlicht und ist der erste EU-weit anerkannte Standard, auf dessen Basis Webapplikationen nach Sicherheitsgesichtspunkten zertifiziert werden können

2007

Die ersten Zertifizierungen nach ONR 17700 werden durchgeführt. Unternehmen sowie der öffentliche Bereich beginnen die ONR 17700 als Anforderung in der Beschaffung und Entwicklung von Webanwendungen zu verankern.

Dezember 2008

ONR 17700 wird zur ÖNORM A 7700 und definiert damit den Stand der Technik für sichere Webanwendungen